European Football Leagues 2011-2012

For the large majority of European football leagues season is over. Know who’s reached the glory.


Season 2011-2012 of the major European Football Leagues

May was the month of big decisions in major football leagues across the Europe. The winners are already known and, in many cases, the initial expectations have failed

In Spain, Jose Mourinho won the league, bringing to four the number of major European leagues that he has triumphed. Real Madrid beat the super Barcelona and recovered the title lost since 2008. In individual terms, Messi won the duel against Ronaldo by scoring an impressive 50 league goals.

In Calcio, Juventus has confirmed its status as a team with more history. They beat the powerful AC Milan and proved that the dark years of the last decade have fallen behind. In the opposite direction, the best that Inter got was the sixth position.

Despite the presence in the Championship League final, Bayern Munich lost again to Borussia Dortmund in domestic competitions. Bayern were humiliated in the cup final by  the Klopp guys who won the Bundesliga for the second consecutive year.

Emotion until the end was what happened in the Premier League this season. Although they have finished with the same number of points, Manchester United left away the title revalidation in the last minute to rivals Manchester City. To compensate the supporters for the 6th and 8th positions in the league, Chelsea and Liverpool, respectively, won the FA Cup and League Cup.

In Portugal, FC Porto won the league, relegating Benfica and Braga to the second and third positions. The Academica Coimbra raised the Portugal Cup and Benfica won the League Cup for the fourth consecutive time.

In France, Montpellier has become the 19th team to win the main league. They left behind Paris SG, which has invested many millions in the beggining of the season, and the previous champion Lille. Lyon, who dominated French football in the last decade, just got the French Cup.

In the Netherlands, Ajax has strengthened its position as the football team with more titles by beating Feyenoord and PSV . The team of Eindhoven won the Cup, and erased the bad image that they left on the league due to a very irregular performance in the games outside doors.

Olympiakos, who holds more than half of league trophies in their country, revalidated the title. The title of vice was assigned to Panathinaikos and the last podium place was taken by PAOK Thessaloniki.

In Turkey, Galatasaray won the championship and now has the same number of league trophies that the second-placed Fenerbahçe. In Belgium, Anderlecht finished with more points than Clubb Brugge and AA Gent. In Austria, Red Bull Salzburg did the same to Rapid Vienna and FC Trenkwalder Admira. Finally, in Switzerland, FC Basel crushed the opponents. It was its seventh win in the last eleven seasons, three of them consecutive.

In a competition led by Spanish teams, putting three teams in the semi-finals like the Portuguese had done on the previous season, Atletico Madrid was better than Athletic Bilbao and has become the first club to win two editions of new Europa League format .

In the most important football competition for European clubs, victory smiled at Chelsea. The Blues reached their first victory beating Bayern Munich in the final, by penalty kicks. The favorites Barcelona and Real Madrid remained at the semi-finals, while APOEL, Benfica, AC Milan and Marseille also joined the restricted group of eight major European clubs.


Major European Football Leagues Winners


Germany Borussia Dortmund
Belgium Anderlecht
Spain Real Madrid
France Montepellier
Greece Olympiakos
The Neetherlands Ajax
England Manchester City
Italy Juventus
Portugal FC Porto
Turkey Galatasaray